Tolkien

Just finished reading the biography of J.R.R. Tolkien by Humphrey Carpenter. Ever since I read “The Lord of the Rings”, I’ve been fascinated by its creator. When was that?… It must have been when I was a university student, already a long time! I also remember that I didn’t quite enjoy reading “The Hobbit”, as I thought it was too simple and not as good as “The Lord”. And then I talked about Mr. Tolkien in one of my classes as part of “Influential People” series. Really interesting person! The minute I saw the biography in one of the bookstores (already after my homecoming), I knew I wanted to read it. Great story which actually feels like a novel! Not boring at all, although J.R.R. Tolkien himself occasionally seems pretty dull. But who am I to tell? He was definitely a genius and will always be remembered. His impressive immagination was amazing, even though it was sometimes difficult for him to focus his attention on writing and finishing assigned tasks. I’m planning to read “The Lord of the Rings” again.

I suddenly remembered that I still haven’t read “The Silmarillion”! Maybe I should set some priorities in terms of reading and be more systematic? Ha, just like Tolkien!

Leave a Reply

