devotion

When I was in Putuo, I took over 200 photos! There were so many interesting views worth remembering. I enjoyed the temples the most – although I’ve been in China for almost 5 years, I had never seen that many religiously devoted people! They were kneeling down, burning incense, praying, worshiping, asking Buddha for good luck and happiness. But I don’t think those people are religious throughout the whole year, I guess it’s only in the beginning of the lunar year. Have I asked for a prosperity for myself? No, I am not a buddhist, I am just a spectator… Although watching those praying people made me think about my own beliefs. What are they? What has left from my christian background? … I haven’t been to the church for many years, I stopped after having numerous doubts and feeling left out. Or should I say: I decided to go my own way. 

Good trip to Putuo Mountain. Next trip? Time to start preparations!

Leave a Reply

